Enough already

Its enough.

There is no further point discussing it. There is in fact, nothing to discuss. The more one enshrines another’s behaviour, the more one puts aside the very point that person was trying to make while at the same point turning nothing into something. What is unnerving is to witness the refusal, perhaps inability, to absorb the main point, which was to throw out the baby and the bathwater and stand on your own two feet. If you do this, you are perceived as turning against something or the other, whereas if there is anything to turn against, or defend, one is falling into the usual traps. Instead, to recognise there is no way forward and no way back, one is left on one’s own.

Its that simple.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Enough already

  1. Branks says:

    Haha. You can’t stop discussing it. The neat thing about writing is that you can distance yourself from the conflict (in a way) and kinda buffer against the craziness it brings on. Its nice to externalise this stuff and imagine that its in ‘others’ and their problem. The old man had his ways of attempting to roadblock our attempts to turn him into something or the other. The nature of our helplessness is so deep and profound that we will always be leaning on something… All i know is that i wanna get my kicks before the whole shit-house goes up in flames. hehehehehehe All riiiight baaaabaaaay!

  2. Branks says:

    Yeah man its so annoying when people don’t get the main point. enshrining his behaviour is so shitty. Why can’t people just absorb the main point and stand on their two feet while still having a well balanced respect for the guy. If you really understand UG’s main points you/re still in Dogshit Creek. I hope my sarcasm is shining through. Understanding and insight leads to fuck-all-nowhere. You’re no different to the shrine makers and sentimental worshippers–probably you’re worse off.. One trap after another until we drop dead.
    Merry Christmas/Happy New year
    In U.G. Love

  3. David Heesch says:

    Hello Louis,

    I stumbled upon some things iterating your experience with UG, whom I only discovered
    recently. It is unfortunate for many that he was in my “opinion”, so completely understood.
    To me, there is nothing there to NOT understand as it is so simple what he is really saying.

    The reason I’m bothering with this is simply this…
    I make complete sense in every way, of what this man is saying. I felt at times that I was
    watching myself. Not in terms of the way he functions outwardly, or having had some
    experience related to his, nor do I see myself “just like him”. However, having ” solved”
    any and all problems for myself, living without any resistance, conflict, or need for anything
    in this world, seems effortless to me now. I don’t want to get philosophical here, but I have
    avoided talking to anyone about my situation long ago, as it is simply doesn’t seem possible to
    communicate to people that one can be free of what we call problems completely.

    I studied psychology formally, went through many “spiritual teachers”, and have never held
    any interest at all in religion. My experience of this occurring in me seems to of happened the
    same way in the sense that I too became so frustrated with not getting results from “guru”s,
    I actually became suicidal. It was that which seemed to “force” me to abandon everything
    I had held relevant, truthful, and significant from everybody period. I decided I would figure it out
    myself. And I did. I have no commercial or self interest in any of this at all.

    What I was left with was similar to UG ONLY in the sense that all desire, demand, and goals for myself of any kind other than basic living completely vanished. The energy that this man exsudes,
    I understand completely as it seems to arise out of ones “control”. I am amused by it now, but friends and family which have fallen by the wayside it seems, are not. Whatever this is, it has not
    left me “like” UG, but has produced a way of living for me, that is unlike I thought would be
    possible.

    In any case my point is this…I see nothing at all difficult in understanding what was UG, or what he tried to communicate. It is not an issue of “intelligence” to get him. To me, it makes perfect sense
    entirely. Why I get it, I don’t know. It is however interesting to run across someone who seems to
    of had a similar experience as him, though upon observation I wouldn”t seem like him at all.
    Until I came across your interactions with him, I had resided to simply not talking to anyone about
    myself, which is ironic as I have never met you. But people all seem identical to me, and the same…as me.

    I’m not looking for response here nor do I have any motivation. Just “pointing out”
    that I completely get, what people seemed to not be able to get. Again I don’t know why.
    But communicating and making accessible and understandable what UG “pointed out”,
    I seem to be able to do. Again I don’t know why. It simply makes perfect sense. It is not
    “transferable” yes, but it can be understood by the average person if presented just right.

    Life is fascinating isn’t it? In any case, running across you really stuck me as I have
    become content with being on my own so to speak and have no more interest in
    anyone’s “teaching”. And so seeing someone else who has found something at least
    similar was eye opening. You have a good one Louis…though I don’t really mean it…lol

    Unsincerely…David Heesch

  4. Ricky says:

    Well said, Louis. In less than 130 words you have expressed the ultimate truth waiting at the end of each seeker’s stumbling journey. I’m afraid many never get it, or as you said, they either refuse or are unable to internalize the obvious. Namely, that “…there is no way forward, and no way back, one is left on one’s own. It’s that simple.”

    Please continue writing, and please do publish another book full of observations as in your “Report from Tiru.”

  5. Ant says:

    Noooooooooooooooooo!

  6. Bob Dickson says:

    That’s the crux of the problem, isn’t it? To just be left on one’s own is a stark realization that keeps popping up since reading and listening to UG. You mean…I’m not a caterpillar waiting to turn into a butterfly with the rest of the “we are the world” gang?

  7. David Heesch says:

    Hello…why do people not see that being “unnerved” or concerned with how one believes you will be perceived and defined from your culture, is simply a result of one conditioned idea ONLY…Yes I said only. The idea that one is “inadequate”, incomplete”, and in need of change. Interpreting this belief as a “fact”, and not the simple OPINION it really is, is the problem. I know, I’ve been there. I just am not anymore. And thank “God”…whoever the deranged, delusional, and destructive “person” he is…LOL. Life is amusing for me now, and very simple. When the idea you are “unequal” to anyone or anything around you is gone, so will be all problems of self. That’s all I will say.

    As someone you obviously knew well might say…”good luck to you”…lol
    You have a good one Louis…David Heesch

  8. David Heesch says:

    Hello,
    Nobody knows who this person is as far as I can find. What he writes is of uncanny
    resemblance to all the UG videos I have seen though he will not respond. There is
    nothing for sale or promoted on his pane and never has been. The content however
    is unusual. Thought you might know or may be interested. And no, this is not a sneaky
    promotion of my own website. Just curious if this guy’s stuff has any likeness to UG.
    You would know. There’s more of this on authentic perceptions.com, which he says
    there is no such thing as lol. Curious about your take.

    If you want to produce a fire, will you use
    water to help it get started?

    Almost everyone identifies with thoughts or the process of thinking in general,
    as representative of who or. what they are. Nothing could be further from the truth.

    Most of us have a continuous influx of thoughts. They may seem to originate from you, but do they? How can they? Even though your conditioning was not. your choice, it was created and cannot be “erased”. However, the INFLUENCE of it on your eventual actions can.

    Thoughts cannot have a “meaning”, without referencing my conditioning. This is simply nothing more than the total collection of ideas and beliefs, that were “downloaded” into my brain or “computer” from others.

    Also included in this, is everything your sensory perceptions have ever seen, felt, tasted, touched,
    or heard. This input has no meaning what so ever, until I am told or “instructed” by my conditioning,
    how to interpret, assess, label, categorize, and conclude about it. This is what my conditioning does. It provides a “guide” on how to perceive, interpret, and assess all input. Unfortunately, this process is not your choice nor could you of avoided it.

    Thoughts in and of themselves, are harmless. It is the conditioned definitions and meanings you assign to thoughts, that give them power. You perceive the world through your conditioned mind. y
    You have an experience. Since the mind is the. tool through which you perceive the world, everything you experience must make sense to the mind. The mind must attach “value” to a thought, or it has no use.

    The validity and meaning of a thought is confirmed ONLY after a specific emotion is “decided” on, in
    relation to what I am experiencing. Whatever label or definition I assign an emotion, is the “title”
    of the thought itself.

    Don’t you assign a definition to every emotional thought or experience? Happy thoughts? Sad thoughts? Negative and positive? Good and bad? How I determine what this means in relation to “my-self”, is a part of my conditioning as well.

    To the mind thinking, and the emotional states that. your conditioning links with experiences or thoughts, are interpreted as what reality ACTUALLY IS.
    Unbeknowest to me, all thoughts arise out of the collection of beliefs and ideas given to me from
    others. There is nothing else to it.

    If you watch a scene in a movie depicting the death. of someone or something, will most people not have some type of emotional reaction to some extent? Why? Nobody actually dies in a movie do they? But do we not react. as if it’s so? The experience of death is presented,
    and the mind takes in the scene as it occurs.
    The mind then references your conditioning (which is not your choice), which then tells you that death is undesirable, scary, sad etc.

    Every emotional experience you have, has a specific chemical basis to it. When you are experiencing. what you call “sadness”, the chemical process which produced that “feeling”, is what you feel. There is. no “you”, which is separate from “your mind”. They are one in the same.

    So what then determines which chemical process is initiated to produce a specific emotional state?
    Again, conditioning. There is no other reference point. If it seems I am implying we are simply
    computers that simply access already programmed “data”, you are correct. There is no “choice”.

    Where does your conditioning come from? From everywhere and everybody. Parents and guardians however, would. seem to have the majority of influence obviously.

    It’s important to understand, that this does not imply one should strive for an emotionless existence. Emotions are fine, and thinking to a degree is obviously necessary to exist.
    If you want to produce a fire, will you use
    water to help it get started?

    Almost everyone identifies with thoughts or the process of thinking in general, as representative of who or. what they are. Nothing could be further from the truth.

    Most of us have a continuous influx of thoughts. They may seem to originate from you,
    but do they? How can they? Even though your conditioning was not your choice,
    it was created and cannot be “erased”. However, the INFLUENCE of it on your eventual actions
    can.

    Thoughts cannot have a “meaning”, without referencing my conditioning. This is simply nothing more than the total collection of ideas and beliefs, that were “downloaded” into my brain or “computer” from others.

    Also included in this, is everything your sensory perceptions have ever seen, felt, tasted, touched,
    or heard. This input has no meaning what so ever, until I am told or “instructed” by my conditioning,
    how to interpret, assess, label, categorize, and conclude about it. This is what my conditioning does. It provides a “guide” on how to perceive, interpret, and assess all input. Unfortunately, this process is not your choice nor could you of avoided it.

    Thoughts in and of themselves, are harmless. It is the conditioned definitions and meanings you assign to thoughts, that give them power.

    You perceive the world through your conditioned mind. You have an experience. Since the mind is the. tool through which you perceive the world, everything you experience must make sense to the mind. The mind must attach “value” to a thought, or it has no use.

    The validity and meaning of a thought is confirmed ONLY after a specific emotion is “decided” on,
    in relation to what I am experiencing. Whatever label or definition I assign an emotion, is the “title”
    of the thought itself.

    Don’t you assign a definition to every emotional thought or experience? Happy thoughts? Sad thoughts? Negative and positive? Good and bad? How I determine
    what this means in relation to “my-self”, is a part of my conditioning as well.

    To the mind thinking, and the emotional states that. your conditioning links with experiences or thoughts, are interpreted as what reality ACTUALLY IS. Unbeknowest to me, all thoughts arise out of the collection of beliefs and ideas given to me from others. There is nothing else to it.

    If you watch a scene in a movie depicting the death. of someone or something, will most people not have some type of emotional reaction to some extent? Why? Nobody actually dies in a movie do they? But do we not react. as if it’s so? The experience of death is presented,
    and the mind takes in the scene as it occurs.
    The mind then references your conditioning (which is not your choice), which then tells you that death is undesirable, scary, sad etc.

    Every emotional experience you have, has a specific chemical basis to it. When you are experiencing. what you call “sadness”, the chemical process which produced that “feeling”, is what you feel. There is. no “you”, which is separate from “your mind”. They are one in the same.

    So what then determines which chemical process is initiated to produce a specific emotional state?
    Again, conditioning. There is no other reference point. If it seems I am implying we are simply
    computers that simply access already programmed “data”, you are correct. There is no “choice”.

    Where does your conditioning come from? From everywhere and everybody. Parents and guardians however, would seem to have the majority of influence obviously.

    It’s important to understand, that this does not imply one should strive for an emotionless existence. Emotions are fine, and thinking to a degree is obviously necessary to exist. The problem occurs when emotions and thought become the deciding factor in how you DEFINE living, and your “self”.

    If your conditioning or input from others which eventually formed the identity you refer to as “me”,
    did in fact come from others input, then how. can any experience, thought, or decision you make BE REPRESENTATIVE OF YOU?

    When you download files or images onto your computer, does the computer BECOME the files? Of course not. It simply stores them, and refers to those files when instructed to do so. Does this imply your daily existence is purely robotic, like a computer? Absolutely.

    So can you delete your “files” or conditioned input. from others that has already been stored, categorized, labeled, and has now BECOME what you call YOU? Absolutely not! It is not possible or even necessary. to “delete” your conditioning. However, it is very possible to live in such a way, that it does not ultimately control your decisions or actions, emotional states, and ultimately your end results.

    If a complete stranger came up to you on the street, and began randomly spouting off how they thought you. should live, would you listen? Would you absorb their “instructions”, and begin actually implementing their advise into your life?

    Would if the instructions were to begin perceiving yourself as inadequate or incomplete? How about feeling inferior to others?

    Would you then say, “well, someone just told me I am not as “good” or “complete” as most, so I’m going to act accordingly now for the rest of my life”? Isn’t the “factualness” of my “inadequacy simply an opinion?
    If so, why would you follow and act out of others opinions……AS IF THOSE OPINIONS WERE FACTS?

    Is a strangers opinion of you any different than a parents? Aren’t both conditioned minds? Does the fact that your parents brought you into this world make. them any less conditioned themselves? Of course not.

    So whoever it was that influenced you the most, weren’t their assessments of who or what you are simply just their opinions, just as the stranger’s on the street? Because your parents “made” you, that makes their opinions, which are nothing more than conditioning, more valid and worth attaching to yourself, than the strangers? To me,it is abdurd.

    There is nothing bad, wrong, or inadequate about you? How can there be? Only conditioned nonsense implies it is so.

    It is not the opinions and beliefs others have of who. or what you are that create a problem. It is the
    belief that those opinions ARE FACTS……INSTEAD OF THE OPINIONS THEY ARE.

    There is no bad guy here, just the end result of how human existence has evolved.

    If you feel equal and with no sense of separateness in relation to ANYTHING, can there be any comparison to anyone else? And if there is no comparison of any. kind, how can there be any conflict?

    With no conflict, there cannot be any desire to achieve or accomplish what one believes one must accomplish in order to become “even” with others. The others whose expectations you aspire to meet, are searching for the exact same thing as you.

    So why does anyone ever attempt to provide anyone else with the answers to problems of “self”,
    or whatever you want to call it? Are they the living embodiment of freedom from their own
    problems? Sounds like conditioned nonsense to me. However, that’just my opinion isn’t it?

    Good Luck…Jayhawkr

  9. Philip says:

    I hope that you continue to write about your travels even if it has nothing to do with U.G. as I have always really enjoyed reading your writing, all the best…Philip

  10. louisbrawley says:

    Thanks Philip.. most appreciated…

  11. I agree with Philip. Your writing has a quality that makes it valuable on its own. I’d noticed that your recent posts were more general observations on life, often only discussing U.G. as a side note, and I found those pieces as insightful as your writings on U.G.
    For someone who was only introduced to his life and ‘work’ after his death, your blog has been extremely helpful in trying to make sense of U.G. and what his ‘teaching’ might mean to me. Your honesty, clarity and self-deprecating sense of humour have done a lot to demystify whatever ideas I might have gotten from long nights (ask my wife) spent reading and watching all kind of material from and about U.G. Your blog has added a dimension to that, and it’s a funny, warm and very human dimension. It has also helped me stay alert for the different versions of ‘chocolate spaghetti’ we keep promising ourselves.
    So thank you for that, and I hope that you will treat us to an account of your adventures every now and then.

    • louisbrawley says:

      Chris

      I hope you’ll forgive me for replying so late but obviously I sometimes just approve comments without reading them because well, I have no excuse but when I read what you’d said it occurred to me that there may be a value in writing. When I do it so chronically, as someone mentioned, in a way pointlessly, I tend to underestimate the function of it. At some level the idea to share it came from UG probably for reasons you’ve outlined. I was very curious to find someone who’d managed to sidestep the bullshit show and at the same time remain available to people who were really curious about these things. Somewhere between the lines we have to find our own way, there is nothing else but that of course. Anyway, Lately a few comments here have indicated that what I am doing is probably not completely self indulgent… there may be some value so I’m going to try and bring more to it. Thank you for the response to the writing and good luck to your wife!! (you shouldn’t even be wanting luck… you should be aiming for complete hopelessness … its those around us I worry about!)
      Best
      Louis

      • Hi Louis,
        Thank you for your reply. I’m glad that my words and those of others have helped you realize the value of your writing (like your latest post, btw). A voice like yours is rare and should be heard / read, at least by those who are interested.
        Thanks for the wishes, on behalf of my wife. Thankfully, my staying-up-to-read-UG-nights are mostly a thing of the past. It is now something I revisit occasionally, when in need of some uncommon sense. I think it’s a lot like the bathwater: good for cleaning off lots of rubbish, but stay in it too long and you end up cold and shrivelled.
        Well, all the best to you (I don’t think hopelessness is something we should aim for, ’cause then we’d be hoping to achieve our aim, etc…),
        Chris

  12. TC says:

    UG said “experiences of others, much less our own experiences, do not help to change anything”. There’s little point in discussing and blogging about our experiences, but we will do it till we see the actual futility of it. After all, where are the “others” that we want to share our experiences with? They are born out of our ever-projecting knowledge.

  13. Jonathan Med Thomas says:

    So what are you doing now? It seems you’re writing a book! Maybe most of your ideas go into that? I don’t think you’ve stopped writing… I don’t see how it’s possible… who knows though.

Leave a Reply

